A typical UK kitten primary vaccination course sits in the £55 to £105 range, depending mainly on whether feline leukaemia virus, or FeLV, is included. The exact bill can be lower or higher because practices quote for different things, from one injection to the complete course with consultations bundled in.
You've brought home a kitten, booked the first vet appointment, and then received a price that seems far above the figure you had in mind. The problem often isn't that one practice is charging unfairly. It's that “kitten vaccination” can mean a single jab, two visits, a consultation, or a broader package including FeLV.
That distinction matters more than a headline average. A 2025 UK pricing survey recorded an average of £74.70 for a kitten primary course including FeLV, with full-course quotes ranging from £59.95 to £91.26. Without FeLV, the average fell to £55.50, according to the same UK kitten vaccination pricing survey. Other UK price lists show why comparisons remain awkward. The Royal Veterinary College lists feline primary-course variants from £79 without FeLV to £105 with flu, enteritis and leukaemia coverage, with consultations bundled in the relevant options (RVC price list).
My advice is simple. Don't ask only, “How much are kitten vaccinations?” Ask, “What exactly is included in that quote?” That single question exposes most misleading comparisons.
Table of Contents
- What You Will Actually Pay for Kitten Vaccinations in the UK
- The Standard UK Kitten Vaccination Schedule Explained
- What a Vaccination Quote Should and Should Not Include
- Why Kitten Vaccination Prices Vary So Much Across the UK
- The Factors That Push Your Quote Up or Down
- Using The Vet Price Comparison Site to Find Local Fees
- Smart Steps Before You Book Your Kitten's Appointment
- Quick Answers to Common Kitten Vaccination Questions
What You Will Actually Pay for Kitten Vaccinations in the UK
The first appointment usually includes a physical examination, a discussion about your kitten's lifestyle, and the first injection. The second injection follows several weeks later, so a quote for one appointment isn't automatically the price for the primary course.
For budgeting, treat the initial vaccination as a small course of care rather than a single product. The survey figure of £74.70 including FeLV is a useful baseline, but it doesn't describe every local practice. A charity clinic in Essex, for example, publishes a £65 two-vaccination kitten course and £35 annual cat vaccinations, showing how provider type can change the bill (RSPCA Mid and North Essex clinic prices).
The three questions that prevent surprises
Before booking, ask the receptionist:
- Is this price for one jab or both injections?
- Is the consultation included in the quoted course?
- Is FeLV included, optional, or excluded?
FeLV is where lifestyle starts to affect the price. The BSAVA describes feline enteritis and cat flu as core UK cat vaccines, while FeLV is non-core but may be considered core for cats that go outdoors or mix with outdoor cats (BSAVA vaccination guidance). A kitten destined to live entirely indoors may receive different advice from one likely to roam or socialise with other cats.
The UK guide to cat vaccination costs is useful for checking how practices separate course prices, appointment fees and vaccine options. I'd use it as a starting point, then confirm the final itemised quote directly with the practice.
A low price may exclude the second appointment. A high price may include FeLV and both health checks. Until you compare identical packages, the numbers don't tell you which practice offers better value.
The Standard UK Kitten Vaccination Schedule Explained
Most kittens start their primary course at around eight to nine weeks of age. The second injection is normally given three to four weeks later, with UK guidance also allowing a third dose at 16 weeks of age or older where the vet considers it appropriate (WSAVA UK vaccination guidance).
That spacing isn't arbitrary. Young kittens can still carry maternal antibodies from their mother, and those antibodies may interfere with early vaccine responses. The later injection gives the vet another opportunity to establish protection as the kitten's immune system develops.
What the core vaccines cover
The standard core components protect against the main diseases generally covered in UK kitten vaccination plans:
- Feline herpesvirus, associated with respiratory disease and cat flu.
- Feline calicivirus, another important cause of cat flu signs.
- Feline panleukopenia, also known as feline enteritis, a serious viral disease.
- FeLV, where the kitten's outdoor access or contact with other cats creates a meaningful exposure risk.
The vaccine combination may be described using different product names, so don't rely on the label alone. Ask the practice to write down the diseases covered and whether FeLV forms part of the primary course.
Why the schedule changes the price
A practice charging per injection may advertise a tempting figure that only covers the first visit. A practice quoting a full course may appear more expensive but include both injections, the consultations and broader protection.
Your kitten's age also matters. If the kitten is younger than the practice's starting point, the vet may ask you to wait. If there's uncertainty about previous vaccinations, the vet may recommend a different plan rather than continuing from an incomplete record.
The first annual booster comes after the primary course, according to the practice's vaccination protocol and your cat's risk profile. Most owners should budget for that separately because the first-year cost includes more than the initial two injections.
For a broader explanation of vaccine components and routine pet protection, see what your pet's vaccinations need to cover. The practical point is that timing, vaccine content and consultation structure all belong in the same price comparison.
What a Vaccination Quote Should and Should Not Include
A useful quote separates four different charges. The consultation pays for the vet's examination and advice. A single jab covers one injection. A primary course should clearly state whether it includes both planned injections. The FeLV element may be part of the course or listed as an add-on.
Most confusion comes from practices using one of these labels without explaining the package. A “kitten vaccination price” might be a single appointment, while another practice uses the same phrase for the complete course. The RVC's published feline primary-course pricing illustrates the difference, with variants ranging from £79 to £105 depending on vaccine coverage and bundled consults (RVC feline price list).
A like-for-like breakdown
| Quote Component | Typical UK Range | What It Should Include |
|---|---|---|
| Single injection appointment | Varies by practice and region | One vaccine administration and a clearly stated consultation arrangement |
| Full primary course without FeLV | Around £55.50 in one 2025 survey baseline | The complete course, normally two injections, with consultation terms stated |
| Full primary course including FeLV | Around £74.70 in one 2025 survey baseline | Both injections, core coverage and FeLV, with any consultations identified |
| Bundled broader course | £79 to £105 on the RVC price list | Feline primary coverage, with the included consultation and vaccine components specified |
The figures above come from different pricing structures, so don't treat them as a universal tariff. The table's purpose is to show why two apparently similar quotes may not be comparable.
Extras that quietly change the bill
Ask whether the appointment includes a routine health check, microchipping, parasite treatment or another service. Some extras are sensible, but they shouldn't be hidden inside a vague “kitten package”. If you've already paid for a microchip through the breeder or rescue organisation, you may not need to buy it again.
The UK's veterinary transparency reforms require practices to publish detailed prices for standard services and provide written estimates when treatment is likely to cost £500 or more. The reforms were introduced after fewer than 40% of practices were publishing prices online, according to the CMA veterinary sector reforms. They make published information easier to find, but you still need to check what each line means.
A practice should be able to tell you the price for the first visit, the second visit, FeLV and any separate consultation. If it can't, I wouldn't book until the quote is itemised. The UK veterinary pricing transparency guide explains why that level of detail is becoming the expected standard.
Why Kitten Vaccination Prices Vary So Much Across the UK
Your postcode can affect the fee as much as the vaccine choice. One UK pricing study found a median kitten vaccination appointment price of £64 in the North of England compared with £82 in the South of England, making the southern median about 28% higher (regional UK kitten vet costs).
Other data shows a similar spread at course level. Scotland was reported as the most expensive area for kitten vaccination courses at an average of £122.39, while London averaged £121. The same evidence set gave a Great Britain average of £110.22 for a primary course including FeLV (UK regional vaccination pricing data).
Regional comparison
| Region | Typical Range | Median | Main Price Driver |
|---|---|---|---|
| North of England | Lower local quotes are common | £64 for an appointment | Local practice costs and competition |
| Midlands and Wales | Mid-range quotes are common | Not consistently reported | Practice model and consultation structure |
| South of England | Higher local quotes are common | £82 for an appointment | Operating costs and local demand |
| Scotland | Higher course averages reported | Not separately reported in the cited data | Regional pricing and provider type |
| London | Higher course averages reported | Not separately reported in the cited data | Urban practice costs and demand |
These figures describe different units, so they shouldn't be merged into one false national ranking. An appointment median isn't the same as a complete course average, and a course including FeLV isn't identical to one without it.
The price gap doesn't mean a northern vaccine is inferior or that a London vet provides better immunity. It reflects the commercial setting, staffing costs, premises and the way the practice packages routine care. Charity provision can sit well below private-practice pricing. The Essex RSPCA course price of £65 demonstrates that provider type matters alongside geography (RSPCA Mid and North Essex clinic prices).
Use the county pricing comparison to understand where a local quote sits, then compare the package rather than reacting to the headline number.
The Factors That Push Your Quote Up or Down
The practice type is the first variable to check. An independent surgery, a corporate group and a charity clinic may use completely different pricing models, even when they administer comparable vaccines. The difference may appear in the consultation fee, the package design or the services bundled into the appointment.
Read the quote line by line
A quote usually rises when it includes:
- A separate consultation fee: The vaccine price may look low, but the examination is added at checkout.
- FeLV protection: This adds a further antigen component and is often priced within a broader course.
- A wider vaccine combination: Ask which diseases the product covers rather than assuming every trivalent or broader product is identical.
- A health check or microchip: Useful services can still make a basic comparison misleading.
- A full two-visit course: This is more expensive than a single injection because it covers the complete primary schedule.
A quote can also look unusually cheap because it excludes the consultation or shows only the first jab. That isn't necessarily dishonest, but it is incomplete for budgeting.
Ask before booking: “What will I pay in total for both primary injections, including every consultation and any FeLV charge?”
The brand name matters less than the coverage, suitability and vet's recommendation. Ask what product is being used, which diseases it covers, and whether the practice recommends FeLV because your kitten will go outdoors or mix with other cats.
Healthcare plans may spread routine costs or bundle services, but compare the total annual commitment with the individual fees. Also ask whether the plan includes boosters, parasite treatments or health checks, rather than assuming every routine service is covered.
If a practice prescribes medicine during a related visit, the reforms cap written prescription fees at £21 for the first medicine and £12.50 for each additional medicine, with the cap indexed for inflation (CMA final veterinary report summary). That won't usually form part of a straightforward vaccination bill, but it's relevant if the vet identifies another problem.
For a fuller comparison of practice structures, read independent vets versus corporate chains.
Using The Vet Price Comparison Site to Find Local Fees
Start with your postcode, not a national average. A local search can show nearby practices with published fees, allowing you to compare the same service across different providers instead of phoning each surgery separately.

Read each practice profile carefully. Look for the price of a single kitten injection, the complete primary course, the consultation fee and any FeLV line. If the profile separates these items, calculate the likely total before deciding that one practice is cheaper.
What to check in a practice profile
- Course definition: Confirm whether “primary course” means both injections.
- FeLV treatment: Check whether FeLV is included or shown as an optional addition.
- Consultation structure: Identify whether the health examination is bundled or billed separately.
- Practice suitability: Make sure the surgery treats cats and can provide the routine care your kitten needs.
- Distance and price: Compare practical travel distance with the total fee, not price alone.
The site's postcode search and county tools are designed to present published practice fees side by side. Its profiles use publicly available RCVS information, while the displayed prices are drawn from practice price lists. That gives you a clearer starting point than relying on a search result that compresses several different services into one figure.
The dataset is refreshed quarterly, so check the date shown and confirm the quote with the practice before booking. Prices can change, and a published listing doesn't replace a direct question about what your kitten's course includes.
The short video below shows how a postcode-based comparison works in practice.
Use the results to build a shortlist, then ask each practice the same questions. Consistency is what turns a list of prices into a genuine comparison.
Smart Steps Before You Book Your Kitten's Appointment
You can get a reliable comparison in one evening if you keep the questions specific. Don't ask three practices for “kitten vaccinations” and assume their replies describe the same service.

Your booking checklist
- Check the price: Ask whether the fee covers the full primary course or just one jab.
- Ask about extras: Confirm whether the consultation and health check are included.
- Compare locally: Use a postcode search to identify nearby practices with published fees.
- Verify vaccine type: Check that the quote includes the core vaccines your kitten needs.
- Book smart: Compare the complete cost, then choose the practice that offers suitable coverage at a sensible total.
Also confirm when the second appointment should take place and the minimum age for the first injection. If your kitten is ill on the day, ask whether the practice charges the full consultation fee even if the vet decides not to vaccinate. A sick kitten may need examination and treatment instead, but you should know how that affects the bill before arriving.
Ask about payment plans if you're budgeting for the wider first-year schedule. A monthly plan may help with cash flow, but only agree after checking exactly which vaccinations, examinations and parasite treatments it includes.
Finally, gather any breeder or rescue paperwork, previous vaccination records, medication details and notes about current health concerns. The more complete the history, the less likely you are to pay for unnecessary repetition or leave the appointment without a clear plan.
Quick Answers to Common Kitten Vaccination Questions
When can a kitten have its first vaccination?
Most kittens can start from around eight to nine weeks, subject to the vet's examination and the kitten's health. The second injection is usually scheduled three to four weeks later, following UK vaccination guidance (WSAVA UK vaccination guidance).
Are annual boosters needed?
Most cats need ongoing booster vaccinations after the primary course, but the exact plan depends on the vaccine, lifestyle and veterinary advice. FeLV protection is particularly relevant to cats that go outdoors or mix with outdoor cats, while an indoor-only cat may receive different advice under the vet's risk assessment.
What should I bring?
Take the kitten in a secure carrier, along with breeder or rehoming paperwork and any previous vaccination record. Write down current medicines, recent symptoms and concerns about eating, toileting or behaviour so you don't forget them during the consultation.
What if the quote looks unusually high?
Ask the practice to itemise the consultation, vaccine coverage, second injection and FeLV charge. Then compare that like-for-like total with two or three nearby practices. A high quote may include a complete course and broader protection, while a low quote may cover only one appointment.
The Vet Price Comparison Site lets you compare published local veterinary fees by postcode, including kitten vaccination course prices and separate consultation or FeLV charges. Visit The Vet Price Comparison Site before booking, shortlist comparable practices, and confirm the final itemised total directly with your chosen surgery.
